“Be happily and uncomplicatedly Catholic”

Michael J Sheehan

Archbishop of Santa Fe

 

 

My favorite religious priest, layperson or organization

Saint (def.) a person of exceptional holiness.

In addition to the thousands of canonized saints, it is good to recognize the breathing ones who enrich our lives. Juanita Caldwell is one of them. I met her fifteen years ago when I was a volunteer feeder at a city hospital. Crippled by rheumatoid arthritis, she can move only her head and has slight use of one hand. Yet, Juanita is one of the most joyful people I know.

   As a lifetime patient (and a Baptist) confined to a bed and wheelchair in a Catholic nursing home, she gives continuous joy and comfort to the staff and other patients. I call her “the Mother Teresa of the 5th floor”.   Accepting and never questioning her affliction, she says with a broad smile, “When and if Christ wants met to get up and walk, it will happen.  But until then, I thank and praise him for his love for me.”

 (Now, tell me about your favorite priest, breathing saint or organization that is making a difference in your life.)

joyfulcatholic@comcast.net

 

Interesting sayings 

I have treated many hundreds of patients and many of them in the second half of life—that is, over 35.  There has never been one whose problem in the last resort was not that of finding a religious outlook on life

                                      Carl Jung

I want more and more through prayer and my simple effort to establish and manifest in myself in myself and manifest to others the joy, the holy, tender unspeakable joy of Jesus.

Elizabeth Leseur,  French married layperson who died in 1914

 

Faith in the resurrection of Jesus says that there is a future for every human being, the cry for unending life which is a part of the person is indeed answered.

 Pope Benedict XVI

I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which I shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.

                             Groucho Marx

 

 

Communiqués

 Thanks you for speaking up for the priests who are the good guys.

                             Evelyn McGuire

I liked everything in your Cheap Shooting column except for a shocking word you used at the end.

                             Maude Gasparde

(Reply: I’m sorry, Maude, but as Pilate said, “What I have written, I have written.”)

Washington Post cartoonist Joe Toles can be thankful for two things. (1) He lives in America and (2) he attacked Catholics, not Muslims.  In Holland, cartoonist Westergaard drew a satire of Mohammed. He now has to live in hiding with police protection.        

                             Sam Rosenfeld

Chuckle time 

Papal Secretary to the Pope: I have good and bad news for you.

Pope:  First, let me have the good news.

Secretary: Jesus has returned to earth and he is on the phone wanting to talk to you.

Pope: That is indeed great news.  But what is the bad news?

Secretary:  He is calling from Salt Lake City.

Special Intentions List

As you pray with a broad brush, please include these loved ones, who have been submitted by our readers. You, too, are invited to send me names of your special persons who are in need of prayer. As Christ asks us to pray for our prosecutors, in addition to those who need physical healing, I am adding the Washington Post cartoonist, Joe Toles. My address is joyfulcatholic@comcast.net. They will be on the list for 60 days. At the end of that time, if prayers are still needed, you merely have to renew the name.

Juanita Caldwell, Isola Todd, David Abbey, Amie Ellis,

Linwood “Skip” Williams, Gerry Paradiso, Tom Medved, Eileen Grotsky, Roseanne Somlock, Nicholas Gallagher, Tom Lewis, Donald Whitcomb, Violeta Zepeda, John Aylor, Rev. Joseph Marini, Enrique Portillo,

 Sharon McPike, Tom Ryan, Joseph Normile, Jim Quimby, Russell Edwards,

Gertrude Goldstein, Rev. Stephen Huffstetter, Hugh Cannon, Eric Moore, Joan Barrett, 8-year-old Michael Fotta and his parents, Lolita Alvarez, Camilus Musselman, Jack Conner, Ed Block,

Peter Bartkiewiez and his family, Joe Toles.

As you note, because of miraculous healings, several names have been deleted and added to our Deo Gratias list.

 

Leave a Reply

