“Be Happily and Uncomplicatedly Catholic.”

We do indeed need to show joy as Catholics.   My motto —“Be  happily and uncomplicatedly Catholic.”- Michael J. Sheehan, Archbishop of Santa Fe

 Quiz

Last week, the winner of the autographed copy of Light Reading for Good and Wayward Catholic is Mary Pat Cashman in Park Ridge, IL.  Here are the answers:

  1. Elisha, the prophet from the 9th Century BC is a Catholic saint.
  2. James, the brother of John, was killed by a sword, as ordered by King Herod (That bastard!)
  3. The patron saint of the perfume trade is Mary Magdalene, who anointed Jesus’ feet with expensive perfume and later brought a jar of ointment to his tomb. 

News Flashes

International New York Times 7/18

The 62-year-old Christopher Hitchens, the noted atheist and author of God Is Not Great, now finds he is dying of cancer. Although he appreciates the prayers he is getting from believers, he says he will deny God until his last breath. (Comment: We Southerners would say he is “whistling Dixie.” (def. lying through his teeth). Chris, if the prayers work, I hope you enjoy your free ticket to Paradise.

(Facet short story)

He who lives in a fog

and denies there is a God,

not only in June

is jejune.

 London Times 8/1

In an interview with the famed scientist Stephen Hawking, he said, “Religion is based on authority, and science is based on observation and reason. Therefore, science will win because it works.” (Comment: Steve, why don’t you observe the uncountable religious miracles over the past 2000 years, then try to reason “why?”)

My favorite priest, layperson, breathing saint or organization

I sense a great loss with the death of my friend, Father David Granfield, O.S.B., who died last month from injuries suffered in an automobile accident in Florida. As a neighbor in my condo, I knew him for years merely as a pleasant little fellow who always met me with a cheerful greeting. Because of his modesty, it was by chance I learned he was a retired priest and outstanding theologian.  His book, Heightened Consciousness, the Mystical Difference, is a book of such depth that as a simple layman, I can spend the rest of my life reading and trying to absorb its message.

          David, you are forever in my memory bank as a friend of giant spiritual strength.  In every way, you personified the Beatitudes.  As an example to all, you were a perfect joyful Catholic.

Now, tell me about your favorite Catholic priest, layperson or organization that is making a difference

joyfulcatholic@comcast.net 

Interesting Sayings

Once I was at vespers and was gazing at the cross. And while I was thus gazing at the cross with the eyes of the body, suddenly my soul was set ablaze with love; and every member of my body felt it with the greatest joy. The joy which seized my soul in this moment can in no way be spoken of.  And in no way whatever can I be sad concerning the passion; on the contrary, my joy is in seeing this man, and to come to him. All my joy now is in this suffering God-man.

Blessed Angela of Foligno, who died in 1309, was a wife and mother, and later a Franciscan tertiary and mystical writer.

 

I will sing to the Lord all my life,

Make music to my God while I live.

May my thoughts be pleasing to him.

I find my joy in the Lord.

Psalms #104 

One of life’s greatest mysteries is how the boy who wasn’t good enough to marry your daughter can be the father of the smartest grandchild in the world.

Jewish Proverb 

I restore myself when I am alone….Marilyn Monroe

 

Communiqués

Many thanks for your Joyful Catholic blog, which a weekly treasure I look forward to receiving,

                             Ellen Deming, El Paso, TX     

I am still pissed off about your piece about the Pope being pregnant.  What kind of a weirdo are you?

                             Roger Watkins, Bay St. Louis, MS

If you are so adamant about women becoming Catholic deacons, why don’t you start wearing a skirt?

Don Fischer, West Palm Beach, FL

 

Chuckle Time

(this week, instead of a chuckle, I thought you would enjoy this poem by the noted African-American poet, Langston Hughes)

Friendly in a Friendly Way

I nodded at the sun

And the sun said, “Howdy do!”

I nodded at the tree

And the tree said, “Howdy, too.”

I shook hands with a bush.

The bush shook hands with me.

I said to the flower,

“Flower, how do you be?”

I spoke to the man.

The strange man touched his hat.

I smiled at the woman—

The world is smiling yet.

Oh, it’s a holiday

When everybody feels that way!

What way?—Friendly

In a friendly way.

Special Intentions List

As you pray with a broad brush, please include these loved ones, who have been submitted by our readers. You, too, are invited to send me names of your special persons who are in need of prayer.  My address is joyfulcatholic@comcast.net. They will be on the list for 60 days. At the end of that time, if prayers are still needed, you merely have to renew the name.

 

 Juanita Caldwell, Isola Todd, David Abbey, Amie Ellis,

Linwood “Skip” Williams, Eileen Grotsky, Roseanne Somlock,

Nicholas Gallagher, Tom Lewis, Donald Whitcomb, Violeta Zepeda,

 John Aylor, Rev. Joseph Marini, Enrique Portillo, 

 Tom Ryan, Denny Kline, Ed Block, Sandra and Bill Bride 

 Joseph Normile, Jim Quimby, Russell Edwards, Gertrude Goldstein,

Rev. Stephen Huffstetter, Hugh Cannon, Eric Moore, Joe Barrett,

 8-year-old Michael Fotta and his parents, Lolita Alvarez,

Camilus Musselman, Jack Conner, Ed Block, Isobel Milligan,

Peter Bartkiewiez and his family, Joe Toles, Grace Toomey,

Bob Kehlhofer, Ed Cole, Bishop Thomas Olmsted, Jay Parker,

D.D. Gavin Shipman, Denny Kline, Anne Hayslip, Bob Earll,

the victims of the flood in Pakistan.

One thought on ““Be Happily and Uncomplicatedly Catholic.”

Leave a Reply

