Calling All You Lay Theologians

Calling all you lay theologians to think and share your thoughts about why Jesus wanted to be baptized, Matthew recorded this event:

Then Jesus came from Galilee to the Jordan to John to be baptized by him. John would have prevented him,  saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and you come to me?” But Jesus  answered him, “Let it be so now, for thus is it is filling for us to fulfill all  righteousness.”

Mark’s version is: “In those days Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. And when he came up out of the water, immediately he saw the heavens opened and the Spirit descended upon him like a dove….”

And Luke merely confirms the fact: “Now when all the people were baptized, and Jesus had been baptized,

          When I question this with my fellow Catholics, I get vague and evasive replies.

“Well, it just happened.”

“I never questioned it.”

“I don’t know, but I’ll ask a priest.”

As your and my opinions have every right to be heard, I would like you to send me your thoughts about why Jesus—the Man-God/God-Man—wanted to accomplish by this action. Then in a future blog, I will share your thoughts for all to read. Send this to aljagoe@comcast.net, and be sure to give you name and home town.                  

 

Recommended Readings

–  “Unexcusable absence” in February issue of U.S. Catholic.

–  “No Labels, Please” in January 14 Commonweal.

–  “How is it going?” in January The Catholic World.

 

Quiz 

Last week, the winner of the autographed copy of Light Reading for Good and Wayward Catholic is Roger Wilson in Portland, OR. Here are the answers:

1.     The first United States citizen to be canonized was Saint Francis Zavier Cabrini.

2.     The miracle that Jesus did not perform was solving the financial crisis.

3.     The two who first recognized Jesus as the Messiah were Simeon and Anna in the temple.

 

Leave a Reply

